

Elizabeth Public Schools Press Release

Five EPS Schools Named 2020 NJ School of Character

School Nos. 21, 22, 28, 52 and Dwyer Technology Academy among schools recognized by NJASECD

Elizabeth, N.J., January 31, 2020 – Victor Mravlag School No. 21, William F. Halloran School No. 22, Juan Pablo Duarte- José Julián Martí School No. 28, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Early Childhood Center School No. 52, and John E. Dwyer Technology Academy were among 38 schools and districts to be recognized as a 2020 New Jersey School of Character by the New Jersey Alliance for Social, Emotional and Character Development (NJASECD).

Each year, Character.org and its state affiliates select schools and districts that demonstrate a dedicated focus on character development, which has a true positive impact on academic achievement, student behavior, and school climate. There were 81 schools and seven districts in 15 states overall selected as state schools of character for 2020.

The six schools will be honored in a recognition ceremony to start the 2020 NJASECD Conference at Rider University on May 29.

The 38 schools selected as 2020 New Jersey Schools of Character have been forwarded to Character.org, a national character education advocate, and are in the national evaluation process for consideration to be 2020 National Schools of Character.

Elizabeth Public Schools can now claim eleven district schools that have been designated as state schools of character, six of which received national school of character honors as well. Past and present recipients include Nicholas S. La Corte-Peterstown School No. 3 (2016), which also received the National School of Character designation; Terence C. Reilly School No. 7 (2018), which also was named a National School of Character; Jerome Dunn Academy of Mathematics, Technology, and the Arts School No. 9 (2019); Victor Mravlag School No. 21 (2020); William F. Halloran School No. 22 (2020); Juan Pablo Duarte – José Julián Martí School No. 28 (2015, 2020), which received State and National School of Character honors; Dr. Albert Einstein Academy School No. 29 (2019), which also was named a National School of Character; Frances C. Smith Early Childhood Center School No. 50 (2019), which received State and National School of Character honors; Donald Stewart Center for Early Childhood School No. 51 (2016), which also received the National School of Character designation; Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Early Childhood Center School No. 52 (2020); and John E. Dwyer Technology Academy (2020).

School Nos. 21, 22, 28, 52 and Dwyer Technology Academy will retain the NJ School of Character status for a period of five years, through 2024.

"Elizabeth Public Schools promotes social wellness as part of its effort to develop and prepare its students for future college, career, and life experiences," said Elizabeth Public Schools Superintendent Olga Hugelmeyer. "Our schools that have been honored by the NJASECD over the years have been shining examples of the ways in which character education can have a positive and lasting impact on the learning community."

"Aside from learning and performing at the highest levels possible academically, we hope the education we provide our students encourages them to becoming caring, responsible contributors to society," said Elizabeth Board of Education President Diane Barbosa. "I am certain that the great work our schools are doing in teaching and promoting character education will serve to inspire our students to positively affect their community."

###

For further information on Elizabeth Public Schools, please visit www.epsnj.org